Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
American Express Feedback - American Express Gift Card - American Express gift card
American Express Feedback

American Express Feedback

ADVERTISEMENT

American Express Gift Card - American Express gift card


A year ago this past Christmas I received an Am Express Gift Card as a gift. When I went to use the card it didn't work despite having activated it. I call Am Express and they asked for a faxed copy of card and my license, which I sent.Then they wanted copies of paperwork that I got with Card, which I sent. Then they wanted a copy of receipt, which I didn't have because IT WAS A GIFT. They refused to honor their own card telling me "the matter is closed"!!! I have stopped the purchase of 3 AM Express Cards this past Christmas and I recommend all take this as a warning.


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to American Express
SUBMIT a ticket
for American Express
WATCH videos
for American Express
More American Express Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for American Express

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


bcclav says: (7 years ago)
 0
Today I purchased an AE gift card and on returning home realized I had paid $4.95 as a purchase fee. Needless to day I was outraged!
The grocery store where I purchased the card told me they could not return the fee because it was a fee made by AE, nor was I permitted to return the card. I then contacted AE and "very strongly" expressed my feelings. After much conversation the manager said she would add the $4.95 fee to the amount of the gift card. While I wanted the $4.95 to be returned to me, this seemed to be a satisfactory solution. As a card member since 1975, always with satisfaction,I was surprised that an organization such as AE would have a charge such as this. Needless to say, I will not in the future purchase an AE gift card. However, I also wish to make a note of the fact that your customer service personnel are always very helpful and courteous. Thank you for giving me this opportunity to voice my opinion. bcclav



roxybaby says: (8 years ago)
 0
i have two gift cards sent to me from Amex, as balance from never used $100.00 American express gift cards
numbers are 374328151285437(959) and 3743281538464
(717)i am outraged that these cards were one hundred each ,never used and now because of fees deducted,are worth only eighteen dollars each.i deal with American Express because i thought you were the best of the lot. I have now changed my mind on your reliability..Christopher Veniero 51 sanford avenue, Belleville,nj 07109..cell 973-789-4625



hodgdon says: (8 years ago)
 0
I have 2 gift cards that have expired. We moved and I did not watch dates. Now the cards have been used up by 'fees'......down to zero balance. Nothing can be done, I was told. It seems to me that Am Ex legally (they say) stole the money. I am very upset over this theft. The people I talked to kept saying there are regulations clearly stating this theft practice. Got it!!! What can be done to protect the customer when oversights like this happen.



paupackonline says: (9 years ago)
 0
Please be advised that your gift card service is seriously flawed.
On Dec. 3 2009, I placed 2 orders for gift cards by telephone, one for 3 cards and one for 2 cards.I was told that all of the information that I submitted was accepted and approved and that the orders would be shipped by USPS shortly thereafter.
On Dec 4th we left on a vacation and did not return until Dec 11th. When I checked my E-mail on the 12th, there was a message indicating that my order for the 3 cards could not be processed and I would have to reorder the cards. I never did get a satisfactory answer for the order being refused. when I called to reorder the cards, I got an agent who spoke very broken English and I had difficulty understanding him and I was told that it was now too late to send these cards by USPS in order to arrive by Christmas. I was also told that I would have to pay an additional $9.95 per card for the faster service. I complained, but was told to take it up with the billing department when I received my bill. I reordered the cards. They were sent and received by Christmas.
When I received my bill, I called the billing department to complain about the additional charges and again was passed off to someone in India and I was passed off several more times in India with one connection so bad that I had to make a call back. After approx. 30 min. on the phone, with many of these min. on hold, the agent agreed to issue a credit for the 3 charges of $9.95 ea. I thought everything was now in order.
However, several days after Christmas, I received an E-mail from one of the recipients to inform me that the card was rejected when she tried to use it. Once again, I had to make another phone call to find out what happened. Fortunately, this time I got to speak with an american lady in Phoenix who reviewed the situation and informed me that indeed all 3 cards had been stopped and could not explain why. She was very helpful and apologetic and reinstated the cards.
I can not remember when I have been involved in a situation that has been so frustrating. I have been a Platinum card member since 1969 and I was always lead to believe that it was an organization that stood head and shoulders above all the others. Well you certainly dropped the ball on this one. This has been a very disturbing experience and you can be assured that I will never use this service again.



myersrobin says: (9 years ago)
 0
I received an American Express gift card in December 2006, for $50.00 I found it today 12-28-09. I thought great I'm out of work this will come in handy right now. I called the 800 # on the back of the card and was told the card expired in 2008. and it is only worth $6.00. This is so unfair. Why would a gift card from a big company expire. When gift cards from Target, Walmart, Sears and many other stores don't ever expire I can use them 10 years from now if I want to. I want my full $50.00 value on this card. I feel that is just good customer service. The person who bought this card had no idea it would expire. When he chose it as a gift. He was not told it would expire and neither was I. I want my card reactivated for the entire $50.00 value.



pakita says: (9 years ago)
 0
American Express Gift Card Consumer complaints…

i had a similar case with a gift card amex i purchased in January 30 for a friend's b'day... it turned to be one of the improperly activated ones. I was directed to send all the information via fax including the credit card summary showing the day of purchase and code for the card. I received from them a letter saying that the case is closed and they will not be able to help without a receipt from the store. I went to the merchant store (long's drugs) which a month ago become cvs pharmacies. just my luck!
all this is not a coincidence. it is one more business strategy to screw the customers.
unregulated business i should say!
this meant we should regulate the business practices?
this means the rules should be not only fear , but ethical?
Last word hasn’t been spoken yet




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More American Express reviews


Similar reviews


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team