American Express Comments All Reviews

WELCOME TO MEASUREDUP
We are the online leader in resolving customer complaints.

* Customers use MeasuredUp to get replies from Businesses
* Thousands of Businesses across the country are partnered with us
* Businesses of all sizes follow MeasuredUp everyday to reply directly to your review
* Partner Businesses are alerted each time a new complaint, question or review is submitted

Put MeasuredUp to work for you free and get answers directly from a Business

Submit Your Free Complaint, Question Or Review To A Business


Notice: Undefined index: company_owner in /home/measured/public_html/core/templates/company_profile.tpl.php on line 169
Companies Click Here
Businesses
Reply Here
Claim your Business Free
Claim Your
Business Free
Write Reviews
Write Free
Reviews
Submit Support Tickets to Companies
Submit
Support Tickets


American Express Comments


1537 says: (2 years ago)
 0
I am an Amex card user from Srilanka
The bank that handles u r card Nations Trust Bank has a very small network here for a reputed card as Amex.to make matters worse they charge a large extra payment of aprox 70 Rs.if u pay up at Keels ( the supermarket Chain!)Even if u do so, the payment realizes with the bank the next working day!!!!and the worst part is u don't know if u r payment has realized at the bank on time or not.So u have to forget about last minute payment!!
PLEASE GET U R REPUTED CATS HANDLED BY A REPUTED BANK THAT MAKES PAYMENT EASY AS IT IS DONE IN OTHER BANKS!!!



Americanexsuxks1 says: (2 years ago)
 0
I recently received a letter from American express. I've been a customer for over 10 years... In that time I've never been late on payments and have an American express blue card. The apr was great at 9.99%. What I got in the letter is the reason why I will never do business again with American express. They wrote to inform me that they would be increasing my apr to 14.99%...and the reason is amusing. Because most cards are charging similar interest on accounts...that is why they're increasing my apr...not because of anything I've done to adversely effect my credit...just because other cards are charging the same. I will never use your cards again! I'm going to cash out my rewards points, pay off my cards, and do everything in my power to make sure no one I know ever signs up with your company. I work for a financial institution and believe me my clients will all hear about this and I will advise them against using your car many for their personal or business needs.



kimranson says: (2 years ago)
 0
AMERICAN EXPRESS IS THE WORST!!! I have been a member since 1987 and their company is just not the same. DO NOT USE THEM. Their customer service is awful. My story is too long to tell but was extremely unhappy with them. It is hard to say goodbye to a company I have been with so long but they don't deserve my business.



mat69 says: (3 years ago)
 0
I do a significant amount of business and personal shopping at Costco, and have an AMEX gold card that I try to use exclusively for all my shoping to maximize on collecting points. I will not be using the AMEX card much anymore now that AMEX and Costco Canada have severed their agreement. Although I would prefer to use my AMEX Card, It makes more sense to replace my Amex card with my Visa card to consolidate my point collection. Its unfortunate that Costco is not willing to accept multiple types of cards.



cappy044 says: (3 years ago)
 0
I have been with Amex for 31years and never had a problem. I was on the phone for over 90minutes today and 4 phone calls. I was transferred,hung up on and a transferred call to India who didn't give a damn about customer service.
After all this no resolution to my accounts.
It appears there is no customer service for loyal customers.
A totally horrible experience.



Caerpa says: (3 years ago)
 0
Hw come American express only lets customers contact reps via live chat as opposed to typing communique. Would much prefer typing correspondence as opposed to live phone chat



sheanng says: (4 years ago)
 0
I had been an American Express Platinum cardholder for 25 years. I had signed on to an agreement for a company to supply services for a year. I later discovered the company was a fraud. They were no longer the licensed company they claimed to be and had entered into with me in a contract. i contacted American Express to explain to them that this company had been a fraud and that their corporation no longer existed. American Express did nothing but write letters and forward the responses. They claimed that there was nothing else they can do. I imagine they still do business with this fraudulent company.
What a joke AX is!!!!



Getmymoney says: (4 years ago)
 0
I purchased 2 American Express prepaid gift cards through AAA membership website in December of last year, I called and cancelled the cards and requested for a refund because I did not the the cards after all. This is now febuary and I have not received the refund back in my visa card . When I called the customer service I have been told the refund is processed and it will take 15 days, I waited 15 days I did not get the money, I called the customer service again, the refused had to be processed again and I was again told it will take another 15 days to process. Today 2/12/2013 I have not received my money or refund . I. Gave them a call and a guy over the phone told me sorry mem" I. Will have to place an order because for your refund, and is there anything I could help you with. It will take about 15 to 20 days for the refund to come through.. I am very frustrated and disappointed.with company and their outsourced customer service employees. Is their any one who can tell me how I can get my money refunded sooner or tell me what else I do.



leonnorell says: (5 years ago)
 0
I have been with american Express for over 30 years. I reecently telehphoned them to ask if it would be in order to pay my monthy due two weeks late, to whcih I was told 'no problem'. I subsequently found that a 'late payment' had been recorded with the credit agencies, as to which, if I had been warned, I would have made the payment on time. When I complained I received a very rude and authoitarian letter from a woman referring me to the agreement. I telephoned her senior, who agreed that this should not ahve been done. After receivng another letter from the obviously very angry woman, I tried to contact the senior again three times, but who ignored my comunications and refused to come to the phone. I have now referred the matter to the Financial Ombudsman and am writing to the CEO in the US.



jrisso says: (7 years ago)
 0
no to american express



abemathew says: (7 years ago)
 0
The $50 American Express card I received 3 months ago expires12/13. Wanted to use it today...so I checked the balance, and what? it has a '0' balance- the card was never used!
What am I to do? What happened to the $50 that is supposed to be in it? Is American Express taking money off up front and scaming me??!!



shrimpann says: (8 years ago)
 0
How, under the law, are they allowed to do this to us with no valid reason? Who can we contact that can make a difference?



Jdeals says: (8 years ago)
 0
DO NOT USE AMERICAN EXPRESS! NEVER EVER get involved with them or it will end in tragedy. PLEASE trust me on this one.



snidewoman says: (8 years ago)
 0
Yes contact the better business bureau but more importantly contact your congress rep... there is legislation waiting to be passed to stop this kind of abuse.

Also they want tarp funds... I SAY NO NO NO funds for these cheats.



first says: (8 years ago)
 0
Poor business,will never do business with this company again. This company could careless about their customer! Say NO to American Express!



first says: (8 years ago)
 0
I had these same problems with amex, something has to be done about this unkind act! I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Its very important for everyone to report their situation to the bureau and they will investigate it for you and follow up with you on the issue. www.bbb.org



djdjdj2007 says: (8 years ago)
 0
I was a card holder of American express "Blue."I had never been late on my payment and always paid at least 80% of the balance. In March 2009, I paid off the entire balance and with out warning, American express canceled my account. When I called to see why I was told that after checking my credit history that my balances on a few other accounts were high. American express can keep their card But their actions will lower my credit score.



whypay says: (8 years ago)
 0
It's nice not to be alone, but it's really sad that AMEX can do whatever to customers and there is no recourse. I haven't been a customer as long as many of you; just since 2006. My credit line wasn't as high either; just $1200.00. But I always paid on time if not before time and mostly more than the previous month's balance because of the low limit and I had liked being able to manage something in my life. I went to use the card to rent a car to see my kids last weekend and when I got to the counter the poor clerk had to tell me my card was canceled. Not declined - because I had just made a $500.00 payment to cover the travel I was anticipating. AMEX didn't even have the decency to inform me ahead of time so at least I could prepare. I understand they have every right according to their "agreement" but my financial situation didn't get the way it is overnight and AMEX has definitely been aware of its status the entire time. I depended on that card and it sucks that consideration can't even be given on a humane basis.



flower21 says: (8 years ago)
 0
Please have a real person contact me conerning my account. I will to speak to someone about this asap.



fit2btied says: (8 years ago)
 0
I HAD been a member of american express for over ten years with three acoounts until October 08

I have never been late, always paid my balances off and in late september I received an e-mail telling me that they had either lowered my credit lines or removed my ability to pay over time. now keep in mind one of my accounts had a $27,000.00 line of credit and they lowered it to $500.00 and I won't go into detail about what horrible things they did to my other accounts but needless to say none of my accounts are worth using now nor would I.

It's sad to hear that they are laying off people but I hope everyone stops use there cards and boycotts them!!!!!

It would bring me much pleasure to hear that they are filing for bankruptcy because all of us that did absolutely nothing to them but pay our bills and be loyal to them brought them to their knees!!!



zsazsa says: (9 years ago)
 0
I recently tried to make reservations for a hotel in Manhattan, but was cut down by some frustrated supervisor who thought he was talking to his mother. I am a custormer for a hundred years and donot need to be bullied by this ignoramous.





Post a comment for American Express

login with Facebook and share your reviews

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team